La Salle wins Pinoyliga crown, KQ named MVP

The DLSU Green Archers went undefeated all the way to the championship of the 2023 Pinoyliga Collegiate Cup after outlasting National University, 84-81, in the finals held of the fourth quarter at the Amoranto Sports Complex in Quezon City on Monday, June 10.

It was an exciting contest between two high-rankings UAAP men’s basketball teams who ironically faced each other in last year’s Final Four round. La Salle, which went undefeated in the eliminations, quarterfinals, and semifinals, used a third quarter rally to build a double digit lead, then withstood the Bulldogs’ late hurrah in the final minutes.

Rising college star Jake Figueroa missed a corner triple in the final seconds which could have tied the matchup. The subsequent rebound allowed La Salle to melt the clock and secure the victory.

Incoming DLSU recruit and former King Lion Jacob Cortez led the Green Archers with 22 points and 4 steals. After the contest he was recognized as the Finals MVP during the Pinoyliga Collegiate Cup Awarding Ceremonies, presented by ALL-STAR Magazine.

Kevin Quiambao was named the MVP of the tournament. Joining him in the Mythical 5 were Kenneth Oumba and DJ Howe of Enderun, Axl Taporco of Diliman College, and Cortez.

Oumba was also named the Defensive Player of the Tournament, it’s top scorer, and best foreign student-athlete. Cortez was awarded the best newcomer while his running mate Kean Baclaan won the league’s top assists prize.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *