New Assassin’s Creed game to embark on a journey through feudal Japan

Ubisoft has announced the latest instalment in its long-running Assassin’s Creed franchise, Assassin’s Creed: Shadows, which will be available on November 15 across multiple platforms: Ubisoft +, PlayStation 5, Xbox Series XIS, Amazon Luna, Macs with Apple silicon via the Mac App Store, and Windows PC through the Ubisoft Store and the Epic Games Store.

Players who subscribe to Ubisoft+ or purchase the Ultimate Edition can get the game three days early on November 12.

Led by the Ubisoft Québec team, which was largely responsible for Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey, this latest chapter will take players to 16th century Japan where the country is on its way towards a brutal path of unification, corruption and unrest grow, and foreign influences infiltrate the land.

Players will get to utilize new charismatic characters Naoe, an adept shinobi Assassin from the Iga Province, and Yasuke, the powerful samurai of historical legend. Both have complementary playing styles with unique progression paths, skills, weapon options, and stats.

For example: Naoe can be used for refined infiltration mechanics via light, noise, shadows, and changing surroundings to avoid detection from enemies. With Yasuke, players can battle larger groups of enemies with brutal precision.

Assassin’s Creed: Shadows will allow gamers to explore a beautiful open world with a variety of landscapes evolving through weather and seasons.

“From spectacular castle towns and bustling ports to peaceful shrines and pastoral landscapes, feudal Japan comes to life with unprecedented dynamism built from the ground up with the latest version of Anvil engine and the power of new-gen consoles,” Ubisoft said in a press release.

Watch the trailer:

“In this troubled period, information is key and will be at the heart of the renewed exploration mechanics. Players will build their own spies’ network to unveil new areas and hunt down targets. Allies with highly specialized skills and abilities can also be recruited to help during missions. The creation of their own customizable hideout will enable players to enhance their network and train their new crew. From base building and layout to decorations and accessories, they will be able to craft a unique place to call home.”

The standard edition of the game can already be pre-ordered here. Additionally, there are three other editions:

The Gold Edition will include the base game, the Season Pass (including a bonus quest with additional unlockable content as well as two upcoming expansions) and three days early access to the game.

The Ultimate Edition will include the base game, the Season Pass, the Ultimate Pack and three days early access to the game. The Ultimate Pack will contain the Sekiryu Character Pack (Naoe and Yasuke outfit and weapon, trinket and mount), the Sekiryu Hideout Pack, five Skill points and a red and black photo mode filter.

Mass Image Compressor Compressed this image. with Quality:80

The Collector’s Edition will include the base game, the Season Pass, the Ultimate Pack, physical content and three days early access to the game. The physical content will be a Steelbook, the World map, Naoe & Yasuke Figurine, life-size Naoe’s Katana Tsuba, a Wall Creed Scroll, an 84 pages collector’s artbook and 2 sumi-e lithographs.

A gameplay trailer will be released in June.

Photos courtesy of: Ubisoft

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *