News & Updates

All UAAP, NCAA teams to compete in Filoil preseason tourney

The 2024 Filoil preseason tournament begins on May 11, Saturday, and will feature all competing teams from the UAAP and NCAA men’s basketball tournaments.

It will be the 17th edition of the offseason league which has often been a good indicator of what to expect from the collegiate programs when they commence their respective mother leagues at the end of the calendar year.

Leading the fray from the UAAP are reigning Filoil champion University of the Philippines and Season 86 titlist De La Salle University. From the NCAA, reigning champion San Beda and College of St. Benilde enter as the most talented rosters on paper.

The league will be separated into two conferences: UAAP teams and NCAA teams. The eliminations will be single-round robin. The top four squads from each conference will advance into a crossover, March Madness-style playoffs.

The competing squads in the Filoil tournament often line-up their rosters that will be utilized in the UAAP and NCAA, save for alterations in the margins here or there.

This will be an opportunity to watch promising incoming rookies, like Jared Bahay, Tebol Garcia, Vince Reyes, Zain Mahmood, and many others.

Filoil also sets the stage for the debut of transfers, such as Brian Sajonia, Forthsky Padrigao, Allen Liwag, plus a handful of other noteworthy student-athletes.

The tournament will also include a one-on-one division, usually featuring second and third stringers or team B recruits.

In addition to Filoil, other offseason leagues going on include the PBA D-League & Pinoyliga Cup.

Photos courtesy of UAAP Media Bureau/NCAA Philippines/GMA Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *